top of page
Search

Now I’m In My Bag 💼


Earlier Through out my fitness journey, I thought to bring nothing but an iPod shuffle, a backpack to put my non-workout clothes, and a bottle of water to the fitness center. To be honest, I don’t even remember carrying an actual gym bag when I went in to workout those first few months.


Needless to say, I can assume that everyone else starting out has also done something similar. You may have been that person who only brought in a spare t-shirt and a towel to guard yourself from the sweat of others. Which is totally fine, especially if every piece of equipment is drenched from the previous user.



As my training has evolved over the past year, so has my list of equipment needed for an effective workout. I’ve been able to narrow down what all I need in my gym bag to have a successful workout, no matter the circumstances.



 

Tennis Ball - I use this mostly for Self-Myofascial Release (SMR) on select spots throughout my body. Tennis ball massage is usually the most useful in the muscles of the back and the hips: places where you can actually lie down on the tennis ball, pinching it between your body and the floor or wall. Really cranks out the knots in the Glute area.


Agility Cones - These I like to use to measure distance for an exercise like Lunges or Farmer’s Carry. They also come in handy for any warm-up and Speed, Agility, & Quickness (SAQ) work.


5 Pack of Resistance Bands: Probably the most used equipment in my gym bag. Pack of five bands ranging intensity from Extra Light to Extra Heavy. I’ve used these for warm-ups, added intensity on an exercise, modifying an exercise due to lack of gym equipment, and rehabilitation from certain injuries.


Core Sliders - If you ever wondered what these small discs are in the stretching area and wondered, WTF...?, you're not alone. It took me a minute as well and they can truly take any bodyweight movement to the next level. I’ve used these anytime time a gym had very little equipment to choose from. They offer a great way to intensify an exercise like for instance Reverse Lunges. By placing the reader foot on the slider, it offers an unstable, challenging but fun surface. If you’re a frequent traveler, this equipment is a valuable tool in your arsenal.


Note Pad & Pen - You can't get more old school than this. I quite frankly use this method only when I'm doing a workout outside of my current program. For example, this past Thanksgiving weekend I had to do a modified workout since I went to a L.A. Fitness (Nice as shit!) which has a difference in equipment from my current gym. It comes in handy on the basis of not forgetting what type of exercise you are doing, plus the weight/sets/reps scheme.


Nike PG 1's Basketball Shoe - Lockdown stability, complete comfort, & responsive cushioning. Bought these shoes last year and I wish I would've gotten these two ankle sprains ago, seriously! These feet have seen the likes of the Air Jordan 1 Low Tops, Air Jordan 12 "Flu Game", Reebok Kamikaze Low, & even the Air Force One High Tops on a basketball court. Anyone else looking for a basketball shoe at a decent price, this shoe defientely takes the cake.


20 oz. Protein Blender Bottle - One of the most important pieces of equipment in my gym bag has to be the 20oz. Protein Blender Bottle. The whire wisk inside the bottle gets rid of "lumpy" protein shakes and provides a smooth drink. I also enjoy the fact of the screw-on lid and secure flip. Not worrying about the spilling of supplements allows me to put some protein powder in the blender bottle before I head to the gym.


So there you have it! This time next year I hope to have a coupe of new gadgets to add to my gym bag (the IDSON Muscle Roller Stick looks pretty cool to from Amazon for only $10.99 👀).


What's in currently in your gym bag? 💼




10 views0 comments
bottom of page